Wiki – Getting Started

The traced app’s main aim is to provide the best possible protection to everyone against breaches of privacy and security.

How do you achieve such a high standard of protection on your device I hear you ask.. It’s simple, allow us to elaborate.

Right now, we’re only providing protection to Android devices, if you’ve got one, then we’re on the right track! If we don’t support your device type yet, then please fill in the below form with your device information so that we can prioritize your device in the future.

Step 1. Installation

You can find the traced app on the Google Play Store, go ahead and select to “install” the traced app if you’ve not done this already.

Step 2. Sign in

When opening traced for the first time you’ll be presented with a check box to agree to our terms and conditions. Once you’ve read through these, select the check box to agree and click on the button labeled “Sign In”.

When signing in, you’ll be presented with your Google accounts on the associated device, select the one you’d like to use as a sign in to the traced app and continue to step 3.

Step 3. Splash Screen

You should now have the welcome splash screen in front of you, this quick walk through will take you through a brief synopsis of what the app does followed by asking for any permissions which it requires. Although it may seem counterintuitive for a privacy focused app to be asking for so many permissions, these permissions are required for the ordinary operation of the traced app. We’ve provided a high level overview of some of these permissions below, but if you’re wanting to know more, we’ve got a page in the wiki dedicated to our list of requested permissions.

Permissions and their necessity:

  • Usage Stats – In order to give you context to your detections, we need to know what apps are running. Please allow traced the permission to view running apps on your device by granting usage stats access.
  • Location Permission – We DO NOT store your location or pass location information back to traced servers. Instead we use this location permission as a simple trigger, to alert you when other apps request access to your location.
  • Ignore Battery Optimizations – In order to continuously monitor for high risk apps and events on your device, we require that our background service is not killed. Without this permission, battery optimizations would frequently kill the traced background service.

Step 4. Turning on The Service

Now that you’re in the app, you’ll see a big button in the middle of the screen and some text which should say “Not monitoring”. Hit the big button and the text will change to “Monitoring”.

Great Job! You’ll now be alerted to active nasties lurking on your device.

Want to know more about what this dashboard is bringing to your attention, check out the wiki-Dashboard page next!