Categories
Support

Main features of the Traced App

Last updated: 10 May 2021

Traced for Android

  • Set up – We need very little information from you to get set up, but more importantly, we don’t require you to create an account or provide us with any personal information. The only data we collect is anonymous (i.e. we don’t know anything about you) and more info about this is in the Help section. We’ll ask you to make sure certain settings are enabled or disabled to ensure the best protection from the app.
  • Dashboard screen – This is where we’ll alert you if we spot any malware or suspicious behaviour (events) from apps, Wifi networks, and system settings.
  • Events screen – This is a timeline of the suspicious events we’ve seen. You can click on individual events to see more analysis of them. We label events as info, low, medium and high risk.
  • Apps screen – This is a list of all the apps on your device, starting with any suspicious ones. Malware, spyware and permissions abuse mainly get onto your phone through apps, so our AI engine has learned to identify the common traits of bad apps and will give them a High, Medium or Low risk here. By tapping an individual app in the list you can find out more about the analysis and what we suggest you do.
  • System screen – Any vulnerable system configuration settings can be found here.
  • Web screen – This is our link checker. Can you type in a web address here manually to check it, or, if you click a link in an email or text message, you can opt to “open with Traced” to get sent to this screen where we’ll scan the link to check it’s not a phishing or spoof site you’re heading to.
  • Wifi – There isn’t a tab for this, but if you’ve allowed us Location permission, we can check any WiFi network you connect to for security status and whether a Man-in-the-Middle attack is active on the network (where cybercriminals intercept the traffic on the network to drop malware or steal credentials).
  • Cam/Mic on – Again, not a tab on the screen, but we send you a discreet alert if any app accesses your camera or microphone. Sometimes this is deliberate, so you can just ignore it, but sometimes it might have occurred from an app that shouldn’t have had access to your cam or mic. We can never know with 100% certainty which app causes the mic/cam alert, but the AI engine provides a best guess, and will list the suspected apps in order of likelihood on the Events page.

Traced for iOS

  • Set up – We need very little information from you to get set up, but more importantly, we don’t require you to create an account or provide us with any personal information. The only data we collect is anonymous (i.e. we don’t know anything about you) and more info about this is in the Help section. We’ll ask you to make sure certain settings are enabled or disabled to ensure the best protection from the app.
  • Dashboard screen – This is where we’ll alert you if we spot any malware or dangerous Wifi networks, Device configuration/settings, and whether your Safari Content Blockers are active (to protect you from malicious websites when you browse the web on your device, using the Safari browser).
  • Wifi screen – We check any WiFi network you connect to for security status and whether a Man-in-the-Middle attack is active on the network (where cybercriminals intercept the traffic on the network to drop malware or steal credentials).
  • Device screen – Any vulnerable device settings can be found here.
  • Web screen – If you’ve completed set up and enabled the Traced content blockers, then when you browse the web using Safari on your device, you won’t be able to load any malicious websites. Websites that might be spoof ones that are designed to harvest your credentials for real sites, or that drop malware on to your device.